UWSP Planetarium Announces Summer Programs

Subway wire staff

Journey to the planets and stars this summer at the Allen F. Blocher Planetarium.

Shows for all ages will be on Mondays and Tuesdays at 7:30 p.m., with special programs for young children and families on select Mondays at 6:30 p.m.

The program of planetarium shows in May and June includes:

  • Monday, May 30 – “Moles, what’s over there?” (6:30 p.m.); “Martian Quest”
  • Wednesday, June 1 – “Habitat Earth”
  • Monday, June 6 – “Sunstruck”
  • Wednesday, June 8 – “Into the Depths”
  • Monday, June 13 – One World, One Sky” (6:30 p.m.); “Seer! A photon’s journey through space, time, and the mind”
  • Wednesday, June 15 – “Chronicle of a trip to Earth”
  • Monday, June 20 – “The Cowboy Astronomer”
  • Wednesday, June 22 – “Einstein’s Gravity”
  • Monday, June 27 – “Larry, Cat in Space” (6:30 p.m.); “Travellers of Light”
  • Wednesday June 29 – “Rising Star – A South African Astronomy Journey”

Planetarium seating is first come, first served for a maximum of 55 people. Groups of eight or more can schedule a special screening of any planetarium program by calling 715-346-2208 or filling out an online request form. There is a $35 fee per group.

The planetarium is located on the second and fourth floors of the UW-Stevens Point Science Building, 2001 Fourth Ave., Stevens Point. Parking is available in Lot D behind the building and is free on all university grounds after 7 p.m.

All events are free and open to the public, but donations are appreciated. Face coverings are encouraged.

The Arthur J. Pejsa Observatory is closed for the summer and will reopen in the fall.

Arline J. Mercier